The Royal Australian Mint has launched a new limited edition commemorative coin series with the first coin featuring the mutiny of Her Majesty Bounty, also called Her Majesty Armed Vessel Bounty. The new series of commemorative coins will mark key moments in Australian history, according to the Royal Australian Mint General Manager.

The first coin of the series focuses on the story of the HMS Bounty’s Captain William Bligh; the second coin features The Rum Rebellion and the third coin features The Eureka Stockade, according to a press release published by the Mint. While the first coin was already released in May, the Rum Rebellion coin will enter the market in June, and Eureka Stockade coin will be released in August.

Each coin of the three coins comes in 1 oz fine silver proof quality and AlBr uncirculated quality.

The HMS Bounty coin marks the passage of 230 years since angry sailors rebelled on board HMS Bounty. They did not realize that their actions would mark a pivotal moment in Australian colonial history. This coin is dedicated to marking this dramatic event.

The reverse of The HMS Bounty coin features the HMS Bounty with a group of angry sailors on board traveling in a turbulent sea. It includes the inscription "MUTINY ON THE SEA BOUNTY – 1789", along with the denomination, and metal quality and weight of the coin.

The obverse displays an effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. It includes the inscription "AUSTRALIA 2019".

The silver version of this coin is struck in .999 pure silver with a limited mintage of only 1500 pieces. The AlBr uncirculated version has a limited mintage of 30000 coins.

Source: Royal Australian Mint